Reassembling Sgt. Pepper’s Lonley Hearts Club Band

sgt peppers lonely hear club band with bee geesIn 1st or 2nd grade, I had the good bad fortune of seeing the Sgt. Pepper’s Lonley Hearts Club Band movie starring the Bee Gees & Peter Frampton. I couldn’t wait to get album. I was 5 or 6 years old. I didn’t know about the Beatles. I was screwed. I remember opening the album my mother probably spent a 100 hours trying to find, being overjoyed and then realizing some other blokes were singing Barry, Robin and Maurice’s songs.  I was planning on marrying their younger brother, Andy Gibb, so of course I was completely supportive the brothers’ movie.

I spent many painful years looking for the freaking album, frequently mocked for wanting the Bee Gees and not the damn Beatles.  It took me a long time to understand why I everyone treated me like such a douche in my pursuit for even a snippet of the beloved music or movie. I was really pissed off at the Beatles for  a long time. I’ve made peace with the Beatles, a friend gave me a copy of the album and of course I don’t have a fucking record player. But never fear, with the 21st century comes all that dumb shit you loved as a kid. Of course the whole movie isn’t on You Tube, but there are some pretty priceless snippets.  The movie also had Steve Martin, Aerosmith, George Burns, Alice Cooper, Earth, Wind and Fire, Carol Channing, Lief Garrett, Jose Feliciano, Dr. John, Etta James, Bonnie Raitt, Sha-na-na, Tina Turner, Hank Williams, Jr, Frankie Vallie, etc. That’s pretty cool for a 1st grader.  I still love this damn movie!!!! Enjoy!

EARTH WIND AND FIRE, Got to get you into my life

AEROSMITH, Come Together
Really Trippy and then Strawberry Fields DIES! SO sad.

ALICE COOPER, Because
I feel like this is Frank Zappa….

GEORGE BURNS, Fixing a Hole

4 Comments

  1. Wow…I feel like smoking lots of weed and watching this. Alice Cooper IS Frank Zappa and George Burns is always ….OH GOD

  2. OMFG ! I love this movie and soundtrack ! This was my first experience with Beatles music, too ! I love love love Steve Martin and Earth wind and Fire’s versions !
    Do you remember Jefferson’s LucyintheSkywithDiamonds halloween ?
    I so wished I would have stayed and dragged that female singers’ version featured in the movie ! I got the cd, if ya want to hear it.

  3. I also got the dvd !

  4. […] have some great songs but I am in not their biggest fan. You’ll just have to read about my Sgt Pepper dilemmas to see how that could be so. Wings on the other hand is a big favorite. A band conceived in the […]


Comments RSS TrackBack Identifier URI

Leave a Reply

